Procrastination

Wow, it’s almost exactly two years since I last posted anything. I don’t even have a cosmic reason why – something for which I am profoundly grateful, by the way. My life has been reasonably cataclysm-free, I just seem to piss away huge amounts of it on stuff that doesn’t make any difference to anybody including me.

The word in the middle of “procrastination” is “cras”, which is Latin for “tomorrow”. Pushing things off to tomorrow is a pretty universal human habit and we always think we’ve got another tomorrow to push things off to. I’ve been thinking of that a lot, because I have just reached an obscure milestone – as of July 19, I am older than my father. I’ve been older than my mother for upwards of twelve years, but now I am older than either of my parents ever lived to be.

I’m not going to do anything dramatic with that reminder that tomorrows are not infinite. I won’t be climbing Everest or skydiving or writing what would surely be the worst symphony since the one in Mr. Holland’s Opus. I’m just going to keep on creeping in this petty pace from day to day. But there is a lot of stuff I have been shoving off to tomorrow – this blog, my midden of a house, a staggering number of phone calls and emails – and it’s time for me to decide that today is tomorrow before tomorrow becomes yesterday and it is too late. 

About lifeonatangent

This is my self-referential profile statement that is intended to give you useful information about me without actually, well, giving you useful information about me. I live in a midden with my dog, who plays into my obsession with words by having no recognized cognates in any other language or even any history going back further than Old English. Seriously. See http://www.etymonline.com/index.php?term=dog.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Procrastination

  1. sue says:

    I understand your new sense of urgency…my parents aging and recent deaths have contributed to one for me as well, although for different reasons. I have 36 years before I reach my fathers age at death, and 28 years before reaching my mothers age at death, but both of them lost their ability to read, write, and think rationally long before they died, and it is that possibility, that I may not have a lengthy mentally competent retirement in which to travel or do all those creative projects stored in my head that gives my life a greater sense of urgency these days.

Leave a Reply

